Westinghouse vs DuroMax Generators: Which Is Better? (October 2026)
For a Westinghouse vs DuroMax generator choice, pick Westinghouse for stated running watts on both fuels and remote start, or DuroMax for its 13000-watt stated output. Both run on gasoline or propane and have electric start.
On this page (9 sections)
- Westinghouse vs DuroMax generator: which has clearer power figures?
- Which generator suits a home backup plan?
- Does remote start matter more than push-button start?
- How do the outlet layouts affect your choice?
- Which is easier to use with gasoline or propane?
- What should you check before setup and first use?
- How can you care for a portable backup generator?
- What mistakes can make the wrong generator a poor buy?
- Which one should you choose?
The Westinghouse vs DuroMax generator choice comes down to documented running output and remote starting versus DuroMax's higher stated wattage. Westinghouse specifies running watts for gasoline and propane; DuroMax states 13000 watts without identifying that figure as running or peak.
Westinghouse gives 9500 running watts on gasoline and 8500 on propane. Both models use gasoline or propane and have electric start, but their outlet layouts and starting options differ.
Choose by the loads you need during an outage, not by brand name alone. Make a list of appliances, note their running and starting demands, and decide how you'll connect them before choosing a generator.
Westinghouse vs DuroMax generator: which has clearer power figures?
Westinghouse provides running and peak wattage for each fuel, while DuroMax states 13000 watts without labeling it as running or peak. That makes Westinghouse easier to match to a load plan using the figures available here.
Westinghouse provides 9500 running and 12500 peak watts on gasoline, and 8500 running and 11200 peak watts on propane. DuroMax is described as a 13000-watt generator, but its running capacity is not specified here.
Running watts matter because they describe the ongoing load a generator can support. Starting watts matter when an appliance's motor first turns on, so total the normal and startup needs of the appliances you plan to run.
Our guide to starting watts vs running watts explains the difference. For a home-wide plan, use how many watts you need to run a house to organize your load list.
What does the Westinghouse vs DuroMax generator comparison mean for each fuel?
Westinghouse gives a separate running-watt figure for gasoline and propane; DuroMax does not provide fuel-specific running output here. If you plan to rely on propane, make sure the generator's capacity on that fuel covers the loads you need.
Westinghouse's stated running output is lower on propane than gasoline. Use the propane figure when checking your planned load if that's the fuel you expect to use.
DuroMax runs on either fuel, but the available information doesn't distinguish its running output by fuel. Check the owner's manual for the capacity details before counting on it for specific appliances.
Which generator suits a home backup plan?
Either may suit home backup if its confirmed capacity, outlets and transfer equipment match your plan. A wattage headline alone cannot tell you whether a generator will run your chosen combination of appliances.
Westinghouse has a 120V L14-30R 30A outlet described as transfer switch-ready and a 120/240V 14-50R 50A outlet described as RV-ready. It also has two 120V GFCI household outlets.
DuroMax includes a 120/240V 50A outlet described as transfer switch-ready, a 120/240V 30A twist-lock outlet, a 120V 30A outlet and four 120V GFCI household outlets. Match the outlet to your equipment, then have a licensed electrician confirm the transfer equipment and home circuits.
For a pump or refrigerator, account for the starting demand as well as normal running use. See our guides to generator sizing for a sump pump and choosing a generator for a refrigerator.
Does remote start matter more than push-button start?
Westinghouse is the better fit if you want remote starting; DuroMax offers push-button electric start. Westinghouse also has electric and recoil starting, while DuroMax has a front-facing interface for changing fuel type.
The Westinghouse includes a key fob for starting from a distance. This can be useful when the generator is set up in its outdoor operating location, though you still need to follow the manual for safe use and checks.
DuroMax starts with a push button. Remote start is not specified for it, so choose based on whether that convenience matters enough to favor Westinghouse.
How do the outlet layouts affect your choice?
DuroMax offers more 120V GFCI household outlets, while Westinghouse pairs two household outlets with a 30A and a 50A outlet. Count the devices you want to connect and check that their plugs and voltage requirements match.
Westinghouse's outlets have rubber covers. Its 30A outlet is described as transfer switch-ready, while the 50A outlet is described as RV-ready.
DuroMax's 50A outlet is described as transfer switch-ready. It also has a 30A twist-lock outlet and a 120V 30A outlet, which may suit equipment with those connection types.
Don't assume that an outlet label alone makes a home connection safe or compatible. Have transfer equipment installed and checked by a licensed electrician.
Which is easier to use with gasoline or propane?
Both offer gasoline and propane operation, but only Westinghouse has a stated runtime figure here. It can run for up to 12 hours on a 6.6-gallon gasoline tank.
That is an upper runtime figure, not a guarantee for every load or condition. Plan to check fuel during an outage, and keep fuel handling and storage aligned with local rules and the owner's manual.
DuroMax has no runtime figure specified here. If fuel availability shapes your decision, compare how easy it is to store and replenish each option where you live.
Read propane vs gas generators for a broader fuel comparison. Neither dual-fuel capability nor a tank size alone tells you which option will be cheaper or easier to obtain in your area.
What should you check before setup and first use?
Choose a safe outdoor location and read the owner's manual before adding fuel or starting either generator. Keep exhaust away from doors, windows, vents and neighboring buildings, and never run a fuel-powered generator inside a home, garage or other enclosed space.
Plan the location before an outage, including a clear route for moving the unit and a way to connect equipment without routing cords through unsafe spaces. Our guide explains how far a generator should be from the house.
DuroMax weighs 245 lb, so plan for help and a clear path when moving it. The Westinghouse weight is not specified here, so check its current manual before deciding how you'll position or store it.
Before starting, follow the manual's instructions for assembly, oil, battery and fuel. Westinghouse includes oil, a funnel, a 12V battery charger, a tool kit and a key fob; DuroMax includes a wheel and handle kit, oil funnel, tool set and propane regulator.
How can you care for a portable backup generator?
Follow the manual's service schedule, keep the unit clean and dry, and check it before you need backup power. Good preparation helps you catch basic setup or maintenance needs before an outage.
Westinghouse includes an automatic low-oil shutdown and a digital hour meter that displays lifetime hours. Use the meter to track operating time and follow the manual for oil checks and service intervals.
DuroMax has a digital display and CO Alert feature. CO Alert does not make indoor operation safe, and it does not replace correct outdoor placement.
Use only the fuel and connections allowed by the manual, and let the generator cool as directed before refueling. Store fuel safely, keep cords and outlets in good condition, and avoid overloading the unit.
What mistakes can make the wrong generator a poor buy?
The biggest buying mistake is choosing by the largest wattage number without confirming running capacity and fuel-specific output. DuroMax's 13000-watt figure is not identified as running or peak, so get the capacity details before assigning essential loads to it.
A second mistake is assuming the gasoline and propane capacities are interchangeable. Westinghouse gives different output figures by fuel, so use the one that matches your actual outage plan.
Also avoid assuming a 50A outlet means a generator can connect directly to a home's wiring. A transfer switch or other approved transfer equipment must be properly installed, and a household outlet must never be used to feed power back into a home.
Finally, don't treat remote start as a safety feature or as a substitute for checking the unit. Start and operate it only in the outdoor location and conditions described in its manual.
Which one should you choose?
Choose Westinghouse if you want published running watts for both fuels, remote start and a 30A transfer switch-ready outlet. Choose DuroMax if its stated 13000-watt output and 120/240V 50A transfer switch-ready outlet fit your plan, after confirming running capacity for your chosen fuel.
Westinghouse is the more straightforward match when your load list fits within its stated fuel-specific output and a key fob matters. Skip it if your planned load exceeds those figures or its outlet layout doesn't match your equipment.
DuroMax may suit buyers seeking its stated output and broader outlet selection. Skip it if you need verified running watts by fuel before buying and cannot confirm those figures for your loads.
For a broader checklist, read how to choose a generator. If DuroMax is your likely pick, our XP13000HX review covers its features in more detail.
| Product | Best for | Fuel | Running watts | Start | Our score |
|---|---|---|---|---|---|
| Westinghouse 12500W Dual Fuel Home Backup | remote starters | Gasoline or propane | 9500 gasoline, 8500 propane | Remote, electric and recoil | 9.0 |
| DuroMax XP13000HX 13000W Dual Fuel | larger load plans | Gasoline or propane | Push-button electric | 8.6 |
Frequently asked questions
Is Westinghouse or DuroMax better for home backup?
The Westinghouse suits a home plan within its 9500 gasoline running watts or 8500 propane running watts. DuroMax states 13000 watts without identifying running or peak output.
Add up your appliances' running and starting watts, then confirm the DuroMax's capacity for your planned loads.
Which generator has more power?
DuroMax states 13000 watts. Westinghouse gives separate figures of 9500 running and 12500 peak watts on gasoline, and 8500 running and 11200 peak watts on propane.
Since the DuroMax figure is not identified as running or peak, these numbers do not support a direct running-watt comparison.
Can both generators run on propane?
Yes. Both use gasoline or propane.
Westinghouse gives propane output as 8500 running and 11200 peak watts; DuroMax does not provide a separate propane running-watt figure here.
Confirm its capacity suits your planned loads.
Which generator is easier to start?
Westinghouse offers remote, electric and recoil starting, and includes a key fob. DuroMax has push-button electric start.
If you want to start from a distance, Westinghouse lists that feature.
Follow the owner's manual for setup and operation.
Can I connect either generator to a home's wiring?
Both have an outlet described as transfer switch-ready, but home wiring requires properly installed transfer equipment. Ask a licensed electrician to assess your setup and follow the generator and transfer equipment manuals.
Never connect a generator to a household outlet.





